800m

Moderator: George Payan

newcoach22

800m

Post by newcoach22 »

Hi Coaches
Help if you can. I am new High school coach, and I'm having a hard time training kids for the 800m. because we have snow on our track, and we don't have a indoor track. what do I do.
My background is in Jumps not 800 and above.
George Payan

800 Meter Training

Post by George Payan »

Workouts for 800 meter runners during the Precompetitive Phase

100 meter workout:
1-2.5 seconds slower than best effort over the distance
16-20 x 100's with 2-3 minutes jog rest

200 meter workout:
Race Pace
12-16 x 200's with 2-3 minutes jog rest

400 meter workout:
Race Pace
4-6 x 400's with 2-3 minutes jog rest

600 meter
4 seconds slower than Race Pace
4 x 600's with 2-3 minutes jog rest

If the athlete cannot achieve the times desired during the interval workout, or if the recovery time exceeds the above prescribed, the athlete must discontinue the workout.

Workouts for 800 meter runners during the competitive phase.

800 Meters - The Competitive Phase

100 meter workout:
All out
10 x 100's with 2 minute jog rest

200 meter workout:
4 @ 2-4 seconds slower than race pace with 2 minute jog rest
4 @ race pace with 2 minute jog rest
4 @ 2 seconds faster than race pace with 2 minute jog rest

400 meter workout:
all out
3 x 400's with 5-8 minute recovery

600 meter workout:
race pace
3 x 600's with 100 meter jog rest